13 Things I Took For Granted

Living in the same country my entire life, and having the ability to move my belongings from home to home when I moved, brought with it a huge advantage and level of comfort. In moving to a foreign country with just 3 suitcases of clothing, I have learned a great deal in the absence of these amenities! 

Thirteen things I took for granted back home in Canada:

1. hydration

2. knowing where the grocery store is

3. having a knife to make a PB sandwich

4. brewed coffee…mostly instant here

5. ability to get to the store, bank…anywhere independently

6. the ability to go out and get what I need on my own

7. being able to explain where home is (addresses are a bit different here)

8. ability to pick up the phone and talk to my loved ones

9. ability to read labels at the grocery store

10. ability to make myself understood and to understand others to have my needs met

11. hot steamy showers

12. dish towels that dry my dishes

13. being able to wear just one outfit in a day, without it becoming soaked with perspiration

What I’ve learned…

  • to rely on others more
  • to have patience while depending on others
  • what it feels like to give up and go without being understood or finding alternate ways to communicate or solve my problem (cell phones with cameras are a miracle)
  • planning well ahead
  • a warm shower is also pleasant
  • the necessity of taking water everywhere and drinking constantly
  • people of many different languages can communicate and get along by having patience and a positive attitude
  • being laid back and letting things go is the way of life here, and has many pleasant rewards!

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

